Tennessee To Celebrate Monument to Women’s Suffrage

Share this:

Tennessee To Celebrate Monument to Women’s Suffrage

From 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Friday August 26, a monument dedicated to Women’s Suffrage in Tennessee will be revealed. This historic event is being held on National Women’s Equality Day to honor the women suffragists who, in 1920, fought so hard that Tennessee become the 36th state necessary to ratify the 19th Amendment granting women in the United States the right to vote.

Alan LeQuire’s sculpture includes five women who were involved in Tennessee’s ratification of the 19th Amendment, granting women the right to vote. The figures are Anne Dallas Dudley of Nashville, Frankie Pierce of Nashville, Carrie Chapman Catt (national suffrage leader who came to Tennessee for the final battle), Sue Shelton White of Jackson, and Abby Crawford Milton of Chattanooga.

The program is outstanding and presenters include Mayors Megan Barry, Nashville; Madeline Rogero, Knoxville; Kim McMillan, Clarksville; Jim Strickland, Memphis; Alan LeQuire, Guilford Dudley III, Trevania Dallas Dudley Henderson, Rep. Brenda Gilmore, Speaker Beth Harwell, Judge Martha Craig Daughtrey, Chief Justice Sharon Lee, Justice Connie Clark, Justice Holly Kirby, Parks Director Tommy Lynch, Ellen Davis, Chancellor Claudia Bonnyman, Rep. Raumesh Akbari, Justice Janice Holder, Charles Traughber, and Ellen Lehman.

The unveiling ceremony will be streaming live at this link: http://livestream.com/tndv-television/tnwomansuffrage.

Tennessee Woman Suffrage Monument (TWSM), Inc. , is a volunteer statewide organization that was founded to memorialize for future generations the work done by Tennessee suffragists to secure ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution by erecting a woman suffrage monument in the Tennessee capital city of Nashville in Centennial Park.

†he monument was funded with seed money from 36 women who became members of The Perfect 36 Society. Those who are interested can still make donations. The Yellow Rose Society is open to those donating $500 or more and their names will be engraved on the wall around the monument, space permitting. Send a check made payable to TN Woman Suffrage Monument, Inc., to Yvonne Wood, 405 Westland Dr., Lebanon, TN 37087, for the Yellow Rose Society, the Five-Five Society, or for any amount. She will acknowledge your donation via e-mail. All donations are appreciated and welcome.

Those interested may also go to www.gofundme.com/honortnsuffragists to make a general donation of any amount if they don’t want their name engraved at the monument site.

For more information about the organization visit http://tnsuffragemonument.org.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *